Doing things the right way

So I’ve been trying to get back on track for over a year, back when my wedding was coming up and I wanted to fit my wedding dress (which my mom had got a size smaller than I was… but those issues are for another blog), and I was worried about being fat in my wedding pictures.

However, after the wedding, I stopped everything, I figured I was past my date, I was good, I didn’t have to worry so much.

And I gained 10 pounds in a month…

Which technically isn’t much, but when you’ve been 95 pounds for the majority of your life and are now pushing 160, it’s a big deal.

So this time, after watching the Shayloss vlogs, I decided that if I’m doing this, I’m doing this. I’m going to do it the right way, eating healthy, working hard, and changing my habits.

Now I used to be a HUGE fan of The Biggest Loser, I thought it was great, I loved Jillian Michaels and was sure that if I just listened to what they said and did it, I’d be perfectly fine.

I stopped watching that show for a number of reasons.

First, the show gives unrealistic, and unhealthy expectations for weight loss. Yes they’re working hard to get to where they’re going, but the last season I watched at least one person passed out during the show due to lack of nutrition/water and over exercize, WHILE SHE WAS ON A TREADMILL!!! She could have been seriously injured, and rather than telling her to slow down, take it easy, it’s not THAT big of an issue to lose weight, they joked with her about what does a Southern woman do when she gets mad.

They also push “low fat”, “low salt” foods, which really shows how our society is now. What a lot of the dietary issues with us right now is that we eat too much sugar (which turns into fat), we have white bread, pasta, so many foods that have corn in them (which is basically sugar… pretty much anything that says Fructose… comes from corn), processed foods that have lost a lot of their nutrients.

What we need to do to lose weight is not buy “Low fat” foods, it’s to buy whole grain, real food that’s not been processed. Things like beans, lentils, whole grains, fruits and vegetables, and stop eating things that are quick and easy, because the quicker and easier it is to just heat up the foods, the more salt, preservatives and chemicals there are in it.

I’m not saying it’s easy, it takes a LOT of work to eat healthy, but the reward is worth it. I have a long way to go to get my food to where I want it. I also have a husband and a roommate that I have to convince to get on the same path, luckily, the roommate’s girlfriend is also a friend of Hubby and me, and she a nutritionist, or rather, studying to become a nutritionist.

She also lost over 70 lbs, just by changing her diet.

So for me, rather than starving myself, cutting back on fat, or just exercizing more, I’m trying to eat less processed stuff.

Things like… Butter instead of Margerine, making Spelt bread on the weekends instead of buying loaves of white bread, making more side dishes that use beans and lentils, and having fresh fruits and veggies to munch on when I need a snack.

These are little things, but they can make a big difference. We’ll see how well I do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

